Chelsea M. Merrihew, Acting Essex County Clerk

(518) 873-3600

Office of the County Clerk
Phone: (518) 873-3600
Fax: (518) 873-3548
Days Open: Monday – Friday
Hours: 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Summer Hours (5/29 – 9/1): 8:00 AM – 4:00 PM

County Clerk’s Office Address: 7559 Court Street, P.O. Box 247, Elizabethtown, New York 12932

Essex County Clerk Online Records

We will record and file up to 5:00 PM, stamping that day, but can only issue a computerized receipt up to 4:30 PM. After that a handwritten receipt will be issued.



Deputy County Clerk: Chelsea Merrihew


Principal Recording Clerk: Pamela Williams

Senior Recording Clerks: Catherine Decker; Noel Decker

Recording Clerk: Kristen Pulsifer


Principal Records Management Clerk: Stacey Hayes


Elizabethtown DMV

7559 Court Street
PO Box 247
Elizabethtown, NY 12932
Phone: (518) 873-3620
Fax: (518) 873-3623
Days Open: Monday – Friday
Lobby Hours: 9:00 AM – 4:45 PM; Closed for Lunch: Noon – 1:00 PM

Window Hours: 9:00 AM – 11:00 AM; 1:00 PM – 3:30 PM
* Enhanced, REAL ID, Restricted, Conditional, Reciprocity from State to State

Written Learner’s Permit Hours: 9:00 AM – 11:00 AM & 1:00 PM – 3:30 PM
* Permit = Class D, DJ, M, MJ

CDL Permit Hours: 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM & 1:00 PM – 3:00 PM
* Permit = Class A & B

Ticonderoga Satellite DMV

Closed Until Further Notice

Lake Placid Satellite DMV

Closed Until Further Notice

Deputy County Clerk for DMV: Charlotte McGinn

Motor Vehicle Supervisors: Charlotte McGinn

Assistant Motor Vehicle Supervisor: Brittany Borden

Cashiers: Shauna Ross, Jan Talarico


Driver’s license renewal
Registration and titles
How to change your address
Driver’s manual and practice tests
Schedule a road test
Information about inspection stations, repair shops and body shops or dealers
DMV records

You have the opportunity to renew locally.  Send all license and registration renewals to the above address.  Three day turnaround is guaranteed.

DonateLifeLogo Click here to learn about organ, eye, and tissue donation and the New York State Donate Life Registry.

Pistol Permits

Pistol Permit transactions are taken by appointment only.  Please call in advance to schedule an appointment – (518) 873-3604.

Pamela Williams

Principal Recording Clerk & Pistol Permit Clerk
Essex County Clerks Office
PO Box 247
Elizabethtown NY 12932

Essex County Clerk Pistol Permit Bureau
Phone: (518) 873-3604
Hours: 10:00 AM – 1:00 PM and 3:00 PM – 4:00 PM

Office Address: 7559 Court Street – PO Box 247
Elizabethtown, NY 12932

Pistol / Revolver & Semi-Automatic Rifle License Application

Laws of New York – Penal Law 400

NYS DEC FAQs Regarding Recent Changes to NYS Firearm Laws

DCJS & NYSP FAQs Regarding Recent Changes to NYS Firearm Laws

NYS Police Firearms webpage

Pistol permits:

Original Permit: $20
Duplicate Permit: $13
Amendments: $3/weapon
Fingerprint processing fee (new applications) paid to L-1 Enrollment Services: $105
Transfer permit into County: $13
Transfer permit out-of-County: $5

Gun dealer/gunsmith licenses:

Original license: $10 (renewable every two years and in the 6th year the complete process is required)
Renewal: $10

Photos for pistol permits, gun dealer licenses, and gunsmith licenses:
2 photos (minimum): $8
4 photos: $12

Purchase coupon policy:
* NIC checks are no longer done by the County Clerk’s Office. *
Purchase coupons are issued when a permit holder comes into the office with a bill of sale for a weapon they want to purchase. If the weapon is being bought from a dealer, the bill of sale must include the name and address of that dealer. If the weapon is being bought from an individual, the bill of sale must include the seller’s name, address, and pistol permit number. The new weapon will be put on the buyer’s pistol permit and a purchase coupon will be generated. This purchase coupon will include the weapon information and have the county seal on it. This coupon will allow the buyer to legally pick up the weapon. A permit holder selling a weapon must receive a purchase coupon, with the weapon information and county seal on it, before giving the weapon to the buyer. This coupon will be needed to remove the weapon from the seller’s pistol permit.

Helpful Links

Helpful Links

Essex County Clerk – Fraud Alert Program:  https://searchiqs.com/fraudalert/
Essex County Clerk – Online Records System:  https://www.searchiqs.com/NYESS/Login.aspx
NYS Department of Environmental Conservation – Sporting Licenses:  https://www.dec.ny.gov/permits/365.html
NYS Department of Health – Vital Records Bureau:  https://www.health.ny.gov/vital_records/
NYS Department of State – Apostille or Certificate of Authentication:  https://dos.ny.gov/apostille-or-certificate-authentication
NYS Department of State – Notary Public:  https://dos.ny.gov/notary-public
NYS Department of Taxation & Finance – Contest Your Assessment:  https://www.tax.ny.gov/pit/property/contest/contestasmt.htm
NYS Department of Taxation & Finance – Tax Forms:  https://www.tax.ny.gov/forms/form_number_order_ad_cms.htm
NYS Troopers – Firearms:  https://troopers.ny.gov/firearms
NYS Unified Court System – CourtHelp:   https://www.nycourts.gov/courthelp/
US Department of State – US Passports:   https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/passports.html